March 3rd

Today is the last day of March. I saved this blog post for last.I absolutely love 03/03 for 03 reasons:

i. World Wildlife Day

Wildlife is all wild flora (plants) and fauna (animals). If you don’t eat it or pet it, it’s probably wild…:D…

Wildlife is under threat… Population is growing and we need more land for human settlements, farming and industrial activity. Poaching and trafficking in wildlife driven by transnational organized crime groups pose the most immediate threat to many iconic species.  Elephants, pangolins (had to google this- http://savepangolins.org/what-is-a-pangolin/), rhinoceros, sharks, tigers and precious tree species are among the most critically poached and trafficked species across the world (wildlifeday.org). Yet we need those lions, giraffes, monkeys and snakes. In Kenya especially, where wildlife through tourism is a money bringer… Wildlife is the reason why our national parks are popular in the world over. We need wildlife.

3rd March was the day of the signature of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES). The theme this year was, ‘The future of wildlife is in our hands’ with a focus on African and Asian elephants. The elephanty theme was, ‘The future of elephants is in our hands’

I’ll sign off this section with a quote on a sticker I had on my door, ‘Only elephants should wear ivory’.

For more information:

Kenya Wildlife Service: http://www.kws.go.ke/

Wildlife Direct: http://wildlifedirect.org/

Wildlife Day: http://www.wildlifeday.org/

 

ii. Africa Day for Environment/ Wangari Maathai Day

This lady, Professor Wangari Muta Maathai… Such an inspiration. My earliest memory of her, was seeing her on TV having her braids pulled out because of a forest. Karura Forest which is one of my favourite hang out places. For some reason, I didn’t think that she was crazy. I never have. I have mad #R.E.S.P.E.C.T for her resilience and fighter spirit. I enjoy the nature because of people like her, who fought for it; who gave a voice to it and who made the rest of us realize that protecting nature is a job, a responsibility. The shoes she left,I must admit, are quite large to fill. I hope and pray that, a few of us hummingbirds will bring our feet together to fill those shoes and continue with the legacy of protecting nature.

For more: http://www.greenbeltmovement.org/node/777

And last but definitely not least… *drumrolls*

 

iii. My Birthday!?!?!?!?!

This year I turned …mumble mumble… I am so grateful to God for another year. Another opportunity to be a steward of nature. Another opportunity to blogess (blog & bless). Another opportunity to learn. Another opportunity to share. Another opportunity to give. Another opportunity to be the best I can be. I am very grateful. 🙂

