Parity

In the next 11 minutes, International Women’s Day will be over. This year’s theme is ‘Pledge for Parity’. I had no idea what parity meant, let alone that such a word existed. I’ve just found out that it means, ‘equalness’ ‘sameness’

In my world, ‘the water world’, this for a long time barely existed. The  women interacted most with water, but had the least influence as to how it would be managed and how it’s infrastructure would be developed. Then entered the ‘hero’, the Dublin Principles (more about these in a different post…COMING SOON to screens near you…:D). The 3rd principle states that,  ‘Women play a central part in the provision, management and safeguarding of water’. That statement, recognizes that women play a major role in water management. Which means that, they should have equal opportunities in the management of water and in the decisions that influence the utilisation of water.

So how I’m I contributing towards parity as an individual?

I am increasing my knowledge on water management so that I can participate in the management of water, from the planning to the implementation of policies. I am aware that this is a male dominated field but opportunity has presented itself and so I have grabbed it and will make the best of it through making my world a better place.

Today, I celebrate women who’ve gone before me and have beaten the odds to be the best in their fields. I celebrate the late Prof. Wangari Maathai, I celebrate President Ellen Sirleaf Johnson, I celebrate Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, I celebrate Miriam Makeba.

I celebrate my mother, I celebrate my sisters, I celebrate the women in rural Kenya who walk for ages just to get some water for their families, I celebrate each and every woman who will read this post.

Happy Women’s Day!

 

Leave a Reply

